Aegon Trophy Update – Tuesday 20th June 2017


Sam Groth (Australia) eliminated sixth seed Darian King (Barbados)7-5 6-4 in the first round of the men’s main draw while British wild card Marcus Willis played a thrilling three set match against qualifier Matthew Ebden (Australia) ultimately winning 1-6, 7-6, 6-4.  Fellow Brit Jay Clarke triumphed over Australian Alex De Minaur 6-3, 7-6.

18 time Grand Slam doubles champion Leander Paes & partner Adil Shamasdin won their 2nd round tie 4-6, 6-3, 12-10 against Matt Reid & John-Patrick Smith and Brit duo Brydan Klein & Joe Salisbury won out against Tennys Sandgren & Andreas Siljestrom 6-4, 7-6.

It wasn’t a great day for two of the British women wild card entries – Harriet Dart lost in her draw against Greece’s Maria Sakkari  4-6,0-6 while Freya Christie had a tough first round draw against #6 seed Andrea Petkovic  losing 3-6,2-6.

Image credit: Marcus Willis on centre court. Karen Ross Photography